World Cup 1938

Format: 16 teams playing in a straight knockout from the round of 16 before the Quarter Finals, Semi Finals and Final.

Saturday 4th June 1938

Round of 16: Germany 1-1 Switzerland (Paris) aet

Sunday 5th June 1938

Round of 16: Hungary 6-0 Dutch East Indies (Reims)

Round of 16: Sweden – Austria (Lyon) Sweden awarded bye after Austria withdrew

Round of 16: Cuba 3-3 Romania (Toulouse) aet

Round of 16: France 3-1 Belgium (Paris)

Round of 16: Italy 2-1 Norway (Marseille) aet

Round of 16: Brazil 6-5 Poland (Strasbourg) aet

Thursday 9th June 1938

Round of 16 Replay: Switzerland 4-2 Germany (Paris)

Round of 16 Replay: Romania 1-2 Cuba (Toulouse)

Sunday 12th June 1938

Quarter Finals: Switzerland 0-2 Hungary (Lille)

Quarter Finals: Sweden 8-0 Cuba (Antibes)

Quarter Finals: France 1-3 Italy (Paris)

Quarter Finals: Brazil 1-1 Czechoslovakia (Bordeaux) aet

Tuesday 14th June 1938

Quarter Finals Replay: Czechoslovakia 1-2 Brazil (Bordeaux)

Thursday 16th June 1938

Semi Finals: Hungary 5-1 Sweden (Paris)

Semi Finals: Italy 2-1 Brazil (Marseille)

Sunday 19th June 1938

Third/Fourth Playoff: Brazil 4-2 Sweden (Bordeaux)

Final: Italy 4-2 Hungary (Paris)

Italy 2-3-5 Aldo Olivieri – Alfredo Foni, Pietro Rava – Pietro Serantoni, Michele Andreolo, Ugo Locatelli – Amedeo Biavati, Giuseppe Meazza (c), Silvio Piola, Giovanni Ferrari, Gino Colaussi. Coach: Vittorio Pozzo.

Hungary 2-3-5 Antal Szabo – Sandor Biro, Gyula Polgar – Gyula Lazar, Gyorgy Szucs, Antal Szalay – Pal Titkos, Gyula Zsengeller, Gyorgy Sarosi (c), Jeno Vincze, Ferenc Sas. Coach: Alfred Schaffer.

Goals: 1-0 Colaussi (Italy) 6, 1-1 Titkos (Hungary) 8, 2-1 Piola (Italy) 16, 3-1 Colaussi (Italy) 35, 3-2 Sarosi (Hungary) 70, 4-2 Piola (Italy) 82

Referee: Georges Capdeville (France)

Attendance: 45,000

Venue: Stade Olympique (Paris)

Host Country: France

Stadiums Used: Parc des Princes (Paris), Parc Lescure (Bordeaux), Stade Chapou (Toulouse), Stade de la Meinau (Strasbourg), Stade du Fort Carre (Antibes), Stade Municipal (Le Havre), Stade Olympique (Paris), Stade Velodrome (Marseille), Stade Victor Boucquey (Lille), Velodrome Municipal (Reims)

Top Goalscorer: Leonidas (Brazil) 7

Back to list of World Cup Finals