World Cup 1994

Format: 24 teams in six groups of four with two from each and the four best third placed teams qualifying to the round of 16 before the Quarter Finals, Semi Finals and Final.

Friday 17th June 1994

Group C: Germany 1-0 Bolivia (Chicago)

Group C: Spain 2-2 South Korea (Dallas)

Saturday 18th June 1994

Group A: USA 1-1 Switzerland (Detroit)

Group E: Italy 0-1 Republic of Ireland (New York)

Group A: Colombia 1-3 Romania (Los Angeles)

Sunday 19th June 1994

Group B: Cameroon 2-2 Sweden (Los Angeles)

Group E: Norway 1-0 Mexico (Washington)

Group F: Belgium 1-0 Morocco (Orlando)

Monday 20th June 1994

Group F: Netherlands 2-1 Saudi Arabia (Washington)

Group B: Brazil 2-0 Russia (Stanford)

Tuesday 21st June 1994

Group D: Argentina 4-0 Greece (Foxborough)

Group D: Nigeria 3-0 Bulgaria (Dallas)

Group C: Germany 1-1 Spain (Chicago)

Wednesday 22nd June 1994

Group A: Romania 1-4 Switzerland (Detroit)

Group A: USA 2-1 Colombia (Los Angeles)

Thursday 23rd June 1994

Group E: Italy 1-0 Norway (New York)

Group C: South Korea 0-0 Bolivia (Foxborough)

Friday 24th June 1994

Group B: Brazil 3-0 Cameroon (Stanford)

Group B: Sweden 3-1 Russia (Detroit)

Group F: Mexico 2-1 Republic of Ireland (Orlando)

Saturday 25th June 1994

Group D: Argentina 2-1 Nigeria (Foxborough)

Group F: Saudi Arabia 2-1 Morocco (New York)

Group F: Belgium 1-0 Netherlands (Orlando)

Sunday 26th June 1994

Group A: Switzerland 0-2 Colombia (Stanford)

Group A: USA 0-1 Romania (Los Angeles)

Group D: Bulgaria 4-0 Greece (Chicago)

Monday 27th June 1994

Group C: Bolivia 1-3 Spain (Chicago)

Group C: Germany 3-2 South Korea (Dallas)

Tuesday 28th June 1994

Group B: Russia 6-1 Cameroon (Stanford)

Group B: Brazil 1-1 Sweden (Detroit)

Group E: Italy 1-1 Mexico (Washington)

Group E: Republic of Ireland 0-0 Norway (New York)

Wednesday 29th June 1994

Group F: Belgium 0-1 Saudi Arabia (Washington)

Group F: Morocco 1-2 Netherlands (Orlando)

Thursday 30th June 1994

Group D: Argentina 0-2 Bulgaria (Dallas)

Group D: Greece 0-2 Nigeria (Foxborough)

Final Standings: Group A: 1 Romania (Q), Switzerland (Q), USA (Q), Colombia. Group B: 1 Brazil (Q), 2 Sweden (Q), 3 Russia, 4 Cameroon. Group C: 1 Germany (Q), 2 Spain (Q), 3 South Korea, 4 Bolivia. Group D: 1 Nigeria (Q), 2 Bulgaria (Q), 3 Argentina (Q), 4 Greece. Group E: 1 Mexico (Q), 2 Republic of Ireland (Q), 3 Italy (Q), 4 Norway. Group F: 1 Netherlands (Q), 2 Saudi Arabia (Q), 3 Belgium (Q), 4 Morocco.

Saturday 1st July 1994

Round of 16: Germany 3-2 Belgium (Chicago)

Round of 16: Spain 3-0 Switzerland (Washington)

Sunday 3rd July 1994

Round of 16: Saudi Arabia 1-3 Sweden (Dallas)

Round of 16: Romania 3-2 Argentina (Los Angeles)

Monday 4th July 1994

Round of 16: Netherlands 2-0 Republic of Ireland (Orlando)

Round of 16: Brazil 1-0 USA (Stanford)

Tuesday 5th July 1994

Round of 16: Nigeria 1-2 Italy (Foxborough) aet

Round of 16: Mexico 1-1 Bulgaria (New York) Bulgaria won 3-1 on pens aet

Saturday 9th July 1994

Quarter Finals: Italy 2-1 Spain (Foxborough)

Quarter Finals: Netherlands 2-3 Brazil (Dallas)

Sunday 10th July 1994

Quarter Finals: Bulgaria 2-1 Germany (New York)

Quarter Finals: Romania 2-2 Sweden (Stanford) Sweden won 5-4 on pens aet

Wednesday 13th July 1994

Semi Finals: Bulgaria 1-2 Italy (New York)

Semi Finals: Sweden 0-1 Brazil (Los Angeles)

Saturday 16th July 1994

Third/Fourth Playoff: Sweden 4-0 Bulgaria (Los Angeles)

Sunday 17th July 1994

Brazil 0-0 Italy (Los Angeles) Brazil won 3-2 on pens aet

Brazil 4-4-2 Claudio Taffarel – Jorginho (Cafu 21), Aldair, Marcio Santos, Branco – Mazinho, Mauro Silva, Dunga (c), Zinho (Viola 106) – Romario, Bebeto. Coach: Carlos Alberto Parreira.

Italy 4-4-2 Gianluca Pagliuca – Roberto Mussi (Luigi Apolloni 35), Franco Baresi (c), Paolo Maldini, Antonio Benarrivo – Nicola Berti, Dino Baggio (Alberigo Evani 95), Demetrio Albertini, Roberto Donadoni – Roberto Baggio, Daniele Massaro. Coach: Arrigo Sacchi.

Referee: Sandor Puhl (Hungary)

Attendance: 94,194

Venue: Pasadena Rose Bowl (Los Angeles)

Host Country: USA

Stadiums Used: Citrus Bowl (Orlando), Cotton Bowl (Dallas), Foxboro Stadium (Foxborough), Giants Stadium (New York), Pasedena Rose Bowl (Los Angeles), Pontiac Silverdome (Detroit), Robert F. Kennedy Memorial Stadium (Washington), Soldier Field (Chicago), Stanford Stadium (Stanford)

Top Goalscorers: Hristo Stoichkov (Bulgaria), Oleg Salenko (Russia) 6

Back to list of World Cup Finals