World Cup 1998

Format: 32 teams in eight groups of four with two from each qualifying to the round of 16 before the Quarter Finals, Semi Finals and Final.

Wednesday 10th June 1998

Group A: Brazil 2-1 Scotland (Saint-Denis)

Group A: Morocco 2-2 Norway (Montpellier)

Thursday 11th June 1998

Group B: Italy 2-2 Chile (Bordeaux)

Group B: Cameroon 1-1 Austria (Toulouse)

Friday 12th June 1998

Group D: Paraguay 0-0 Bulgaria (Montpellier)

Group C: Saudi Arabia 0-1 Denmark (Lens)

Group C: France 3-0 South Africa (Marseille)

Saturday 13th June 1998

Group D: Spain 2-3 Nigeria (Nantes)

Group E: South Korea 1-3 Mexico (Lyon)

Group E: Netherlands 0-0 Belgium (Saint-Denis)

Sunday 14th June 1998

Group F: Yugoslavia 1-0 Iran (Saint-Etienne)

Group H: Argentina 1-0 Japan (Toulouse)

Group H: Jamaica 1-3 Croatia (Lens)

Monday 15th June 1998

Group G: England 2-0 Tunisia (Marseille)

Group G: Romania 1-0 Colombia (Lyon)

Group F: Germany 2-0 USA (Paris)

Tuesday 16th June 1998

Group A: Scotland 1-1 Norway (Bordeaux)

Group A: Brazil 3-0 Morocco (Nantes)

Wednesday 17th June 1998

Group B: Chile 1-1 Austria (Saint-Etienne)

Group B: Italy 3-0 Cameroon (Montpellier)

Thursday 18th June 1998

Group C: South Africa 1-1 Denmark (Toulouse)

Group C: France 4-0 Saudi Arabia (Saint-Denis)

Friday 19th June 1998

Group D: Nigeria 1-0 Bulgaria (Paris)

Group D: Spain 0-0 Paraguay (Saint-Etienne)

Saturday 20th June 1998

Group E: Belgium 2-2 Mexico (Lyon)

Group E: Netherlands 5-0 South Korea (Marseille)

Group H: Japan 0-1 Croatia (Nantes)

Sunday 21st June 1998

Group H: Argentina 5-0 Jamaica (Paris)

Group F: Germany 2-2 Yugoslavia (Lens)

Group F: USA 1-2 Iran (Lyon)

Monday 22nd June 1998

Group G: Colombia 1-0 Tunisia (Montpellier)

Group G: Romania 2-1 England (Toulouse)

Tuesday 23rd June 1998

Group B: Italy 2-1 Austria (Saint-Denis)

Group B: Chile 1-1 Cameroon (Nantes)

Group A: Brazil 1-2 Norway (Marseille)

Group A: Scotland 0-3 Morocco (Saint-Etienne)

Wednesday 24th June 1998

Group C: France 2-1 Denmark (Lyon)

Group C: South Africa 2-2 Saudi Arabia (Bordeaux)

Group D: Nigeria 1-3 Paraguay (Toulouse)

Group D: Spain 6-1 Bulgaria (Lens)

Thursday 25th June 1998

Group E: Netherlands 2-2 Mexico (Saint-Etienne)

Group E: Belgium 1-1 South Korea (Paris)

Group F: USA 0-1 Yugoslavia (Nantes)

Group F: Germany 2-0 Iran (Montpellier)

Friday 26th June 1998

Group H: Argentina 1-0 Croatia (Bordeaux)

Group H: Japan 1-2 Jamaica (Lyon)

Group G: Colombia 0-2 England (Lens)

Group G: Romania 1-1 Tunisia (Saint-Denis)

Final Standings: Group A: 1 Brazil (Q), 2 Norway (Q), 3 Morocco, 4 Scotland. Group B: 1 Italy (Q), 2 Chile (Q), 3 Austria, 4 Cameroon. Group C: 1 France (Q), 2 Denmark (Q), 3 South Africa, 4 Saudi Arabia. Group D: 1 Nigeria (Q), 2 Paraguay (Q), 3 Spain, 4 Bulgaria. Group E: 1 Netherlands (Q), 2 Mexico (Q), 3 Belgium, 4 South Korea. Group F: 1 Germany (Q), 2 Yugoslavia (Q), 3 Iran, 4 USA. Group G: 1 Romania (Q), 2 England (Q), 3 Colombia, 4 Tunisia. Group H: 1 Argentina (Q), 2 Croatia (Q), 3 Jamaica, 4 Japan.

Saturday 27th June 1998

Round of 16: Italy 1-0 Norway (Marseille)

Round of 16: Brazil 4-1 Chile (Paris)

Sunday 28th June 1998

Round of 16: France 1-0 Paraguay (Lens) sudden death aet

Round of 16: Nigeria 1-4 Denmark (Saint-Denis)

Monday 29th June 1998

Round of 16: Germany 2-1 Mexico (Montpellier)

Round of 16: Netherlands 2-1 Yugoslavia (Toulouse)

Tuesday 30th June 1998

Round of 16: Romania 0-1 Croatia (Bordeaux)

Round of 16: Argentina 2-2 England (Saint-Etienne) Argentina won 4-3 on pens aet

Friday 3rd July 1998

Quarter Finals: Italy 0-0 France (Saint-Denis) France won 4-3 on pens aet

Quarter Finals: Brazil 3-2 Denmark (Nantes)

Saturday 4th July 1998

Quarter Finals: Netherlands 2-1 Argentina (Marseille)

Quarter Finals: Germany 0-3 Croatia (Lyon)

Tuesday 7th July 1998

Semi Finals: Brazil 1-1 Netherlands (Marseille) Brazil won 4-2 on pens aet

Wednesday 8th July 1998

Semi Finals: France 2-1 Croatia (Saint-Denis)

Saturday 11th July 1998

Third/Fourth Playoff: Netherlands 1-2 Croatia (Paris)

Sunday 12th July 1998

Final: France 3-0 Brazil (Saint-Denis)

France 4-3-2-1 Fabien Barthez – Lilian Thuram, Frank Leboeuf, Marcel Desailly, Bixente Lizarazu – Christian Karembeu (Alain Boghossian 57), Didier Deschamps (c), Emmanuel Petit – Zidane Zidane, Youri Djorkaeff (Patrick Vieira 74) – Stephane Guivarc’h (Christophe Dugarry 66). Coach: Aime Jacquet

Brazil 4-4-2 Claudio Taffarel – Cafu, Aldair, Junior Baiano, Roberto Carlos – Rivaldo, Cesar Sampaio (Edmundo 73), Dunga (c), Leonardo (Denilson 46) – Bebeto, Ronaldo. Coach: Mario Zagallo.

Goals: 1-0 Zidane (France) 27, 2-0 Zidane (France) 45, 3-0 Petit (France) 90

Sent Off: Desailly (France) 68

Referee: Said Belgola (Morocco)

Attendance: 80,000

Venue: Stade de France (Saint-Denis)

Host Country: France

Stadiums Used: Parc des Princes (Paris), Parc Lescure (Bordeaux), Stade de France (Saint-Denis), Stade de Gerland (Lyon), Stade de la Beaujoire (Nantes), Stade de la Mosson (Montpellier), Stade Felix-Bollaert (Lens), Stade Geoffroy-Guichard (Saint-Etienne), Stade Velodrome (Marseille), Stadium de Toulouse (Toulouse),

Top Goalscorer: Davor Suker (Croatia) 6

Back to list of World Cup Finals